Fla. stabbing suspect does not want ‘negro’ public defender

Thomas Thorpe speaks at his first court appearance Thursday. His public defender looks at him.

A man charged with attempted murder after he allegedly stabbed a person at an Orlando bus stop, demanded that the black public defender standing next to him Thursday at his first court appearance, not stand next to him.

“I said not guilty — I pleaded not guilty and I don’t want this negro standing next to me,” (51-year-old Thomas) Thorpe told the judge. “I don’t want a negro standing next to me.”

The attorney turned to Thorpe, but said nothing.

The judge said he would assign a public defender to his case while the court determines if he’s mentally fit to stand trial.

Leave a Reply

