“I’m as mad as hell and I’m not gonna take this any more!”

I'm tired of Washington jerking everyone around on this debt ceiling crap. People don't have jobs, people are losing their homes, their ways of life, they can't afford to live the life they've become accustomed to; their credit has gone to shit. It's all gone straight to hell on greased rails.

At this point, I'm almost ready to go Howard Beale on everyone involved. Howard Beale, for those of you who have never heard of him, was an anchorman played by Peter Finch in Paddy Chayefsky's 1976 classic film "Network." Beale, a long-time network anchor, suffers a nervous breakdown on the air shortly after finding out he was being fired due to ratings. Over the course of his rage and alcohol fueled rants, he extols the American public to take action.

 I want you to get mad! I don't want you to protest. I don't want you to riot – I don't want you to write to your congressman because I wouldn't know what to tell you to write. I don't know what to do about the depression and the inflation and the Russians and the crime in the street. All I know is that first you've got to get mad. You've got to say, 'I'm a HUMAN BEING, God damn it! My life has VALUE!' So I want you to get up now. I want all of you to get up out of your chairs. I want you to get up right now and go to the window. Open it, and stick your head out, and yell, 'I'M AS MAD AS HELL, AND I'M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS ANYMORE!' I want you to get up right now, sit up, go to your windows, open them and stick your head out and yell – 'I'm as mad as hell and I'm not going to take this anymore!' Things have got to change. But first, you've gotta get mad!… You've got to say, 'I'm as mad as hell, and I'm not going to take this anymore!' Then we'll figure out what to do about the depression and the inflation and the oil crisis. But first get up out of your chairs, open the window, stick your head out, and yell, and say it: "I'M AS MAD AS HELL, AND I'M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS ANYMORE!" 

 And to the surprise of everyone involved, that's exactly what many people across the nation do. It was true in 1976, and it's true today. "I'm as mad as hell, and I'm not gonna take this any more!"

Columnist Jeff Jarvis has gone the same direction — but using Twitter to fuel his fire. Last week, Jarvis tweeted:

“Hey, Washington assholes, it’s our country, our economy, our money. Stop fucking with it.”

He added another key ingredient to the whole shooting match: the hashtag #FUCKYOUWASHINGTON. And you know what? It's taking off. Slowly, of course, at first, but it IS taking off. 

So, to match the genius of Jarvis, and to paraphrase Beale, I want you to get mad. I want you to get up now, and get out of your chairs, and go to the proverbial window that is your Twitter feed or TweetDeck or whatever you're using as your personal soapbox. Go ahead and say it with me: #FUCKYOUWASHINGTON — I'M NOT GOING TO TAKE THIS ANY MORE!

Leave a Reply

